Review on Darroch Learg
UNFORTUNATELY CURRENTLY CLOSED DUE TO A FIRE
The Gaelic name translates rather romantically as 'the oak wood on the sunny hillside'. This country residence was built in 1888 in fashionable Royal Deeside and it boasts great views over Ballater and Craigendarroch (the rocky 'hill of oaks').
Owners Nigel and Fiona Franks are carrying on a tradition of family hospitality that stretches back more than 40 years, and they are ably supported by chef John Jeremiah. It's a winning partnership that continues to pay dividends.
Dinner is where most of the energy is concentrated, and the menu proudly shows of its prime Scottish ingredients. To start, there might be tortellini of Arbroath Smokie with roasted scallops, Sauternes sauce and curry oil or breast of squab pigeon with green beans foie gras and warm shallot dressing.
Seasonal main courses might call into play Deeside hare (roasted and served with spring greens, caramelised root vegetables and pink peppercorn cream sauce) or sea trout (pan-fried and accompanied by pommes purée, a salad of asparagus and beetroot with horseradish dressing). Desserts are classic: iced tiramisù terrine with orange segments and passion fruit sauce, or lemon tart.
A separate seven-course tasting menu includes – at its heart – a snail with braised lettuce and wild garlic sauce, while the wine list is a stunner, assembled by a connoisseur and with plenty for fans of big names from the Old and New Worlds.
Darroch Learg is also featured in: Good Food Guide, AA GuideRate this Restaurant
Restaurant Opening Times
Lunch: 12.30 - 2.00pm Sun
Dinner: 7.00 - 9.00pm Mon-Sun
Accepted credit cards
Visa, Master Card, American Express