Review on Crocker's Folly
After a closure of some 10 years, this beautiful Grade II listed building, once a Victorian gin palace has been completely restored by the Maroush group, known for their fine authentic Lebanese restaurants, and has re-opened as Crocker's Folly. Located in a largely residential area of St John's Wood, it is named after Frank Crocker, who built it in 1898 to take advantage of the travellers on the Great Central Railway, but unfortunately the terminus was eventually sited half a mile away at Marylebone station.
Guests are greeted by the stunning 1898 Bar with the lovingly restored stucco walls and gilded ceiling, as well as fine wood panelling and Romanesque columns, it's an opulent backdrop for their signature cocktails. The aptly named Marble room with its 50 types of marble has been transformed into a magnificent dining room featuring contemporary Italian tables and chairs and a huge open fireplace adorned with the Crocker's Folly logo. There's also the Lord's Dining Room named in honour of the nearby Lord's Cricket Ground, a more intimate affair with original Victorian windows and a magnificent Baccarat crystal chandelier, it's overlooked by the open kitchen.
Modern ideas abound on the menu, which works its ways through the likes of homemade country pork terrine served with wafer thin walnut toasted bread and rhubarb relish or roasted octopus salad, red beetroot puree, honey and lemon dressing. When it comes to main courses, meat fans will enjoy the Josper grilled beef fillet paired with spinach and parmesan puree, roasted shallots and red wine sauce, while for fish eaters there's pan fried stone bass, cauliflower puree, caramelised endive and pak choi. Desserts offer plenty of choice with dishes such as chocolate fondant and popcorn ice cream or bread and butter pudding flavoured with Baileys.
Gastro pub / Modern European
Restaurant Opening Times
Lunch: 12.00 through until
Accepted credit cards
Visa, Master Card, American Express